

MINUTES

SYDNEY UNIVERSITY LAW SOCIETY INC. ABN 49 844 560 526

Minutes of Executive Meeting held on: 20/12/2023 Chair: Danielle Tweedale Minute taker: John Mentzines

Meeting opened: 7:38 am

Present:

Danielle Tweedale	President
Ellie Mangharam	Vice President (Education)
Priya Mehra	Vice President (Careers)
Jessica Xu	Vice President (Social Justice)
John Mentzines	Secretary
Amante Abela	Treasurer
Antonia Odegbaro	Sponsorship Director
Mounica Akula	Social Director
Kiana Asgari	Competitions Director
Daniel Kim	Competitions Director
Charlie Hua	Sports Director
Kate Sinchilo	Publications Director
Phan Vu	International Student Officer

Apologies:

Absent: Ben Cullen, Zara Paleologos

Late Arrivals: Priya Mehra (7:39 am)

Early Departures:



MINUTES

MINUTES

1 Welcome and Apologies

The Chair welcomed attendees to the meeting and delivered an Acknowledgement of Country. No apologies were received.

2 **Procedural Matters**

The following circular motion was approved via email on 30 November 2023.

Motion: That the public minutes from the Executive Meeting held 31 October 2023 be approved as a correct and accurate record of the meeting.

The motion was carried with 20 votes in favour.

3 Bank Signatories

Danielle outlined the requirements to authorise signatories of the SULS bank accounts. Danielle explained that normally SULS would hold a Special General Meeting (SGM) at the end of Semester 2 to authorise the changing of the bank signatories, but this did not occur because the 2023 SULS Election was held later than usual and it was not currently possible to call an SGM because the SULS Constitution requires General Meetings to be held during semester. Danielle further explained that a Special General Meeting is not required either by the SULS Constitution or s 36(2) of the *Associations Incorporation Act 2009* (NSW) to change the bank signatories, and that a motion of the Executive should be sufficient to satisfy our constitutional and legal obligations.

Motion: To authorise the changing of the bank signatories of all SULS bank accounts from:

- Nazanin Sharifi (President 2023) to Danielle Tweedale (President 2024);
- Mahmoud Al Rifai (Treasurer 2023) to Amante Abela (Treasurer 2024);
- Julia Joon Hee Lim (Secretary 2023) to John Michael Mentzines (Secretary 2024); and
- Maeve Cairns (Equity Officer 2023) to the Equity Officer of the 2024 SULS Executive. Moved: Danielle Tweedale Seconded: Charlie Hua The motion carried unanimously with zero abstentions.

Meeting closed: 7:44 am